• Links

Kara no Kyoukai Coming To US, But Not In The Way Many Had Hoped

So, Kara no Kyoukai is being released in the US, but not at a reasonable price for the US anime market. At $400 to order from RightStuf, you will be getting all of it along with a nice box and an art book. But, what about the people that have never seen it and would like to watch it atleast once? FUCK THEM! I have been told this is for collectors by many people on forums.

Now, I count myself as an anime collector, but, I also have the common sense to know that I shouldn’t spend a whole pay check on 1 series that is shorter than most shows I can get for $100. And yes, I know I spent close to $250 on Lucky Star LE singles and $200 on Haruhi singles, but that was also spread out over months. I can’t afford to spend $400 on something I may or may not like.

Then, there are people on other sites saying that people like me who say support the industry are hypocrites for not being willing to spend $400 on this. Well,  I would be a hypocrite if I were to go and download it after saying that, but I have no intention to do so since I believe someone will eventually release a cheaper version somewhere down the line. I surely hope someone does though, because this is reminding of the old days of anime that I was not really part of as much since I was 10 or younger.

I just want to watch KnK without going bankrupt. That is all.

Oh well, I can wait. I mean shit, I have waited much longer for things (such as teh time between Super Metroid and Metroid Prime). There are tons more for me to buy while I wait  for a reasonable release of KnK. Until then,  will just wait. If it never is released, then I just wont see it. If not seeing one thing were to bother me, I would be crazy since I still haven’t seen the thousands of other anime out there.

Info via ANN

One Response

  1. When I first saw the price for this, I had to do a double-take. That is a LOT of money (1/4 of my monthly paycheck, in fact) for something I have heard only a tiny bit about. I think the most I’ve ever spent all at once for a single anime was $95. I think my horror might have been less if it perhaps, in addition to this release, all 7 parts/movies had been released separately, so that those who were uncertain about it could try a bit. Of course, if those parts were released at $60 each, I probably still would have snorted derisively and moved on to something else.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

